Commands‎ > ‎

Rm

Removes files and directories from a backup.  Only root or the owner of a version (the userid that created the backup version) can remove files from that version.

  $ hb rm [-c backupdir] [-r version]
[--force] [--secure]
         [pathname list]

-r without any pathnames removes an entire version from the backup. Files saved in this version are removed only if they are saved in the next version.  Otherwise they are moved into the next version.

--force removes all files from a version, whether they are in the next version or not.  It is also required to remove the latest backup.

--secure forces immediate packing of all arc files affected by this rm, ignoring any pack- config options and limits, so that deleted data blocks are physically deleted from the backup.  This is usually not necessary since rm deletes the recipe for reconstructing a file, making it impossible to restore, but it can be useful when confidential data is removed to ensure that even the encrypted data blocks are removed from the backup.   It is most efficient to do all secure removals in one command line to avoid repacking arc files more than once.  If files are removed without --secure, it is not possible to remove them later with --secure.

Use pathnames to remove specific files.  With -r, files are only removed from that version.  If -r  is not used, all copies of the files are removed.  Pathnames must be complete as shown in a listing of the backup, beginning with a slash.

For safety reasons, wildcards cannot be used with the rm command.  However, entire directories can be removed.  There is no extra confirmation when removing directories.
 

HashBackup tries to strike a good balance between bandwidth and storage efficiency.  When half of the data in an archive has been deleted, the archive is packed to recover the deleted space and then sent to any remote destinations.  This is controlled with the pack-percent-free and other pack- config options.  Check the config command for more details.
Comments