Removes files and directories from a backup.
$ hb rm [-c backupdir] [-r version] [--secure] path1 path2 ...
Without options, all versions of the files listed are removed from the backup. Only root or the owner of a version (the userid that created the backup version) can remove files from that version.
Pathnames must be complete as shown in a listing of the backup,
beginning with a slash. For safety reasons, wildcards cannot be used
rm command, but entire directories can be removed. There
is no extra confirmation when removing directories. It is not
possible to remove the root path (
-r removes files from a specific version.
--secure forces immediate packing of all arc files affected by this
rm, ignoring any
pack- config options and limits, so
that deleted data blocks are physically deleted from the backup. This
is usually not necessary since
rm deletes the recipe for
reconstructing a file, making it impossible to restore, but it can be
useful when confidential data is removed to ensure that even the
encrypted data blocks are removed from the backup. It is most
efficient to do all secure removals in one command line to avoid
repacking arc files more than once.
If files are removed without
HashBackup tries to strike a good balance between bandwidth and
storage efficiency. When half of the data in an archive file has been
retain, the archive file is packed to recover
the deleted space and all destinations are updated. This is
controlled with the
pack-percent-free and other
options. Check the config command pack
options for more details.